Quiet Mind Meditation

This is a quiet space .. designed to inspire, nurture and support your meditation practice so that you might find your own quiet mind

Monday, 6 July 2015

The 7 Chakras

Are you on our Monday Meditation Musings list?

This is my FREE weekly email designed to provide an inspirational (and meditative) kick-start to your week .. a little meditative nourishment!

You can sign up for Monday Meditation Musings here.

For the next seven weeks I will be exploring Chakra meditation .. come take the Chakra journey with me and each week receive instruction and insight into this ancient practice.  We will focus on a different Chakra each week .. starting this week with a full Chakra meditation practice.

'What lies behind us and what lies before us 
are tiny matters compared to what lies within us'
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Chakra Meditation

Ancient Indian Yoga literature introduces us to the special energy centers in the body called Chakras.  In Sanskrit Chakra translates to 'circle' or 'wheel' and describes an energy network that lies within the body; the storehouse and transmitter of universal energy.  

The Chakra's are often portrayed as spinning wheels of light energy, each with an associated color, sound and crystal.  Interestingly, the Chakra energy network is also found in native American cultures and Hebrew Kabbalism. 

Chakras are said to govern the regulation of our life force and represent junction points between mind and body, with each Chakra representing a particular dimension of human life.  

When our energy is flowing freely the Chakras are said to spin brightly as our system remains clear and balance .. we feel grounded, confident, powerful and connected.  

When our Chakras become blocked or obstructed we start to feel constricted and obstructed from our essential selves and this can lead to feelings of unrest and potential physical dis-ease.

Regular meditation is one practice that keeps the Chakras balanced and vibrating effectively.  Meditating on the Chakras allows any issues causing energy blockage to surface in the subconscious mind, and here we have an opportunity to see and address these.  The power of our thoughts (positive energy vibrations) can restore imbalances .. and this is where meditation can have a major impact on our well-being.

The seven major Chakras are:

Root Chakra : Base of Spine (color Red)
Pelvic Chakra : Deep in the Pelvis (Orange)
Navel Chakra : Solar Plexus (Yellow)
Heart Chakra : Center of Chest (Green)
Throat Chakra : Thyroid (Pale Blue)
Third Eye Chakra : Between the Eyes (Purple)
Crown Chakra : Crown of the Head (Gold or White)

The Monday Meditation Musings are emailed out to Subscribers every Monday morning at 6am (Australia) and are given freely as a source of inspiration and nourishment for your meditation practice.  JOIN US each week .. 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...